Interview: Chua Enlai

chua-enlai-credit-milk-photographie-olivier-henry-fly-190308-00979

Chua Enlai plays One Ball-less in the musical Sleepless Town.

– Tell us more about the character that you will be playing. Do you relate to any of the characters?

I’m a baddie called One Ball-less. I am certainly not inflicted with that physical disability but my character takes great pride in having something in common with the “Villain of the Year” of 1941, a certain Mr Adolf Hitler. He is also a master of disguises, transforming into a teacher of theft and Amy Winehouse! I like her albums.

– What are some of the challenges you have faced while preparing for the production?

There is the excitement of working on a brand new script, as it’s like watching a child grow into an adult, but shaping the piece and creating this new “world” is harder than you think. I also have a song that (with my limited vocal range) would make Mariah Carey blush. I’m also overcoming a back injury and a more recent leg injury and I obviously have a lot of catching up to do tomatch the physical rigors of the production.

– What is your favourite part of the production?

Working with Beatrice once again is great for she gives us lots of freedom to explore . I’ve also thoroughly enjoyed working with the cast, many of whom I’ve not worked with (apart from Karen Tan but who HASN’T worked with her). It’s like one big family. I also love the songs. It’s a Pop musical and the plethora of modern music genres is so exciting to listen to.

I’ve spent a lot of time filming that apart from the production of “Boom” in September last year, this will be my first time back in the Theatre for more than a year and I think it will prove to be exhilarating.

And since we’re talking about Superheros,
– Who is your favourite superhero and why?

Robin. Why? He’s so underrated and ignored that he really needs the votes.

– If you had superpowers, what would it be and what would you do with it?

Flying and Invisibility.

First, flying – I want avoid all those annoying jams on the CTE, BKE and PIE as well as the outrageous ERP charges. And should I not be able to afford Business Class, flying solo sure beats Economy!

Secondly, invisibility – If I had it, I’d be off to the White House in a jiffy. I want to know what Obama’s got up his sleeve!

Leave a Reply

