Interview: Jo Tan

josephine-tan

Josephine Tan plays One Tit-less in the musical Sleepless Town.

– Tell us more about the character that you will be playing. Do you relate to any of the characters?

My character is One Titless because she’s well, short of one tit. She’s also short of feminine appeal and any boyfriends to date, but she has a cushy job, or at least as good as it gets in Sleepless Town …she’s the left hand woman to mean Queen Azira.

I guess I can sort of relate to her. I think at the bottom of it all she’s just a girl who feels she’s not good enough looking very hard for approval, and doesn’t everybody feel like that sometimes?

– What are some of the challenges you have faced while preparing for the production?

Some of the challenges I faced would be creating the fantasy space and characters of Sleepless Town because in many ways it’s completely unlike any place many of us would ever have seen, especially in sweet, safe Singapore!

– What is your favourite part of the production?

My current favourite scene is with Enlai as Count Far Kov, teaching a bunch of Sleepless Town kids the way to be successful criminals. He has a hilarious accent and the motley crew is really fun and ruffianly. There’s also a great dance number in that but you’ll have to see.

– Who is your favourite superhero?

My favourite superhero is Ranma from Japanese manga Ranma 1/2. He’s cursed to turn into a girl when he’s splashed withcold water. He’s both a Japanese highschool ruffian (hot) who fights fabulously and a pretty, manipulative girl (can you say Desperate Housewives?). He also never fails to crack me up.

– If you had superpowers, what would it be and what would you do?

If I had superpowers, I would be a less tortured version of Jean Grey – psychokinetic (meaning I can levitate) and mild mind control. That’s all I need.

Leave a Reply

