Interview: Julia Abueva

julia-abueva1

Julia Abueva plays Nora Mowend in the musical Sleepless Town.

– Tell us more about the character that you will be playing. Do you relate to any of the characters?

The character that I play is Nora Mowwend. She is 12 years old and she lives a very rough life. Her father died when she was 2 years old so she now lives with her mom and her mother’s evil boyfriend. She grew up reading comic books and she loves superheroes. Her only way to happiness is when she escapes to a fantasy world called Sleepless Town.

I can’t say I’m similar to any of the characters but I have to say that they are all extremely interesting and have their own personalities. For Nora my character, we’re very different but I like that because I get to experience being a different person and this helps me grow as an actress.

– What are some of the challenges you have faced while preparing for the production?

Juggling school work with rehearsals because I still go to school every day, then I rehearse until 10 every night, and wake up at 6 am every day. Plus my character is different from who I am so I need to really internalize who she is.

– What is your favourite part of the production?

I like the story a lot and watching it come to life everyday is just so exciting!

= And since we’re talking about Superheros, who is your favourite superhero and why?

My favorite superhero is superman because he is the best looking one. Hahaha!

If you had superpowers, what would it be and what would you do?

I would fly! And I would go wherever I want, anytime, anyplace. I think the best time would be at night then I could be with the stars.

Leave a Reply

