Timbre Special! – Michaela Therese

Photo by Marcia Ong

Photo by Marcia Ong

Bossa night is coming soon to Timbre, so ArtZine chats with Michaela Therese on all that jazz. It’s “a little bit of everything with a whole lot of soul,” she says. Timbre is celebrating its anniversary with a 10-day music festival (“some of the best local music this country has to offer!” shares Michaela), so check out the details here.

ArtZine: It’s Timbre’s Anniversary! Any special message for them?
Michaela: Congratulations all at Timbre! It has been an absolute pleasure working with you guys for almost 2 years now! Keep it going!!

ArtZine:We hear you’re going to have an album soon!
Michaela: I’m still recording it at the moment. They’re all originals, I may throw in a cover or two. I’m excited though and I hope for it to be out in 3 or 4 months. Hopefully a tour, once my album is released!

Naming the legendary Ella Fitzgerald as her all-time favourite jazz singer, she holds great respect for her grandfather. “He was my greatest teacher, of music and all things.”

She is laid-back and loving it. “I’m a bit of an introvert when it comes to these things. I keep a low profile for the most part. Boring, I know, but I’m not a rock star. Give me a few drinks maybe, then we’ll see.” she laughs.

ArtZine: What goes on backstage?
Michaela: The incessant, hilarious banter between the musicians. Ridiculous requests for songs, or badly spelt ones. I once got a request for ‘Somebody’ by “Despatch Mode”. If I could, I would take a nap when I’m too tired to go on.

We asked her to name the first song that came to mind and she said, “The Wind Cries Mary’ by Jimi Hendrix”. (so maybe you can try requesting for that song instead yea?)

ArtZine: Michaela 10 years from now would be…?
Michaela: An international artist, who has managed to promote some sort of a positive message to the world.

I would like Singaporeans to question, first of all! Too many of us sit back and think that life is just the way that it is. Living in a bit of a bubble doesn’t help. If it were up to me, Singaporeans should have more of an open mind about things and not just accept things the way they seem them only.

How well do you know Michaela?

  • I count my daily consumption of water. By the ml. I make sure I get at least 2,500ml of plain water a day.
  • I’m a big city kind of girl, I can get very impatient and I like things to be done fast fast fast.
  • ‘Fight Club’ is one of my favourite movies.
  • I am an avid reader – Jeanette Winterson and Haruki Murakami are two of my favourite authors.
  • I’ve been the same height since I was 15. Go figure!

ArtZine: Life without music is… ?
Michaela: No life at all.

Download ArtZine’s Calendar of Timbre MusicFest here.- By Valerie Oliveiro

Leave a Reply

